Bring4th

Full Version: [split] On Human Nature
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Isn't the pursuit to escape ones human-animal nature just a lack of acceptance of the self?
It just seems me that nature invested in humans so I am still greatly confused by the philosophy that the activities of humans are fundamentally 'unnatural'. Sounds like a species self esteem issue.
@ Farseer:

I don't keep pets. Nor do I condone zoos, or even nature shows where the animal world is invaded by film crews and tourists. 

I have no self-esteem issues. 

You ask a good question about what constitutes natural human behavior. I was thinking about that as I composed the previous post. Natural behavior for humans seems to be all over the map, indicating that there is a great imbalance. I am not a proponent of going back to some time in the past as the way to live naturally. I do think humanity needs to evolve greater understanding in order to be in balance with all things. I do realize this is an ongoing process through densities, yet look at us. I would say the pendulum is swinging widely out of balance, and it's time to consider what is best for all, not just indulge human whim.
Okay but that is so vague. You say we have imbalances, yet have no measure of what constitutes balance?

It seems like this whole thing comes back to an assessment of human greed. That's the finger that's being pointed, toward greediness. Is greediness unnatural?