Bring4th

Full Version: Cannot Search, query too short
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I know this is asking a lot, but I have to ask.

Can we make the search function accept three letter search queries???  I want to find all threads of the red chakra, typing red brings back an error saying I need at least 4 characters to search.

Wwhhy 3:
Try root. The root chakra is also the red chakra.
That sounds like a good get around.

I also have been trying to find a thread that has 'eat' in its title and that's the only real identifier I remember.

Also most refer to red chakra as red ray, red chakra, moreso than root so I imagine a good number of relevant threads will be omitted because no one mentioned 'root' ray/chakra.
You can use Google to search the forum. But it probably won't find something in Treehuggers cause you have to be a member to see that one.

Like this:

site:http://www.bring4th.org/forums/ eat


Substitute "eat" with your word.
Ghostalker at your service.

TL;DR simply copypasta these into Google:

allintitle: "red" site:http://www.bring4th.org/forums/showthread.php

allintitle: "eat" site:http://www.bring4th.org/forums/showthread.php

Alternatively for "eat" and "eating":

allintitle: "eat" OR "eating" site:http://www.bring4th.org/forums/showthread.php



You could try Google Advanced Search, and type:

eat / red / red ray (into the this exact word or phrase: bar)

http://www.bring4th.org/forums/showthread.php (into the site or domain: bar)

Then set the "terms appearing" setting to "in the title of the page" from "anywhere in the page"

+ you could modify the "last update" setting from "anytime" to an approximate period of time for more precise results.

++ if you are uncertain that the thread title included "eat" as opposed to its present continuous form, you could type "eat" "eating" into the any of these words: bar.

Finally, you could do CTRL + F and type EAT or RED into the "Find" bar to highlight the "eat"s and "red"s.
(04-24-2017, 09:11 PM)Coordinate_Apotheosis Wrote: [ -> ]I know this is asking a lot, but I have to ask.

Can we make the search function accept three letter search queries???  I want to find all threads of the red chakra, typing red brings back an error saying I need at least 4 characters to search.

Wwhhy 3:

This setting "Enter the minimum number of characters an individual word in a search query can be," is set to 2 characters.

I don't know why the software would require a minimum of 4.

I shall query with Steve and Austin.

 
Nice forum stats you got there, GLB

[Image: sync1.jpg]

[Image: 1oa03i.jpg]
(05-02-2017, 10:30 AM)Bring4th_GLB Wrote: [ -> ]
(04-24-2017, 09:11 PM)Coordinate_Apotheosis Wrote: [ -> ]I know this is asking a lot, but I have to ask.

Can we make the search function accept three letter search queries???  I want to find all threads of the red chakra, typing red brings back an error saying I need at least 4 characters to search.

Wwhhy 3:

This setting "Enter the minimum number of characters an individual word in a search query can be," is set to 2 characters.

I don't know why the software would require a minimum of 4.

I shall query with Steve and Austin.

 

Gaaarrryy, sorry I didn't see your post! Thank you for looking into this, if you need any technical info just ask away~
(05-02-2017, 10:50 AM)earth_spirit Wrote: [ -> ]Nice forum stats you got there, GLB

[Image: sync1.jpg]

[Image: 1oa03i.jpg]
he became the alpha bean and the omega bean.
The Alpha G, Omega B Wink
Hi folks,

I uncovered a bit more information, which might be bad news. Included in the system settings is this description of the Minimum Search Word Length field:

"Enter the minimum number of characters an individual word in a search query can be. Set to 0 to disable (and accept the hard limit default of 3 for standard searching and 4 for MySQL fulltext searching). If you use MySQL fulltext searching and set this lower than the MySQL setting - MySQL will override it."

So far as I can tell, MySQL is overriding the setting of 2. It seems that the limit of 4 is hardwired into the database system. I'll double-check with Steve to make sure there's nothing we can do to change that, but it seems our hands may be tied.
I'm no whiz at programming but it sounds like the solution is to find the coded portions specifying 4 as a minimum and changing them to 3 in the MySQL programs, but I don't know if that's even possible to be done.  If not its no biggie,  e_s provided a good work around solution. Thank you guys for looking into it!  I find it funny that all this time no one on the administration ran into this problem xD
Sometimes variable names are not so clear.

Maybe a trigger could be put on mysql that when it reads less than 4 it puts the correct number. I'm not sure though.