Bring4th

Full Version: We came here to serve but most of us have no idea how we are to be serving.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Today an epiphany hit me.

It was yet another day of being blown away by how hurt the worlds population is.
Yet another day in my not mental health related field where someone who has it all and has worn the mask to show it for years has a melt down and needs my ear/compassion/nonjudgmental/care/understanding/love.

I work in the animal care industry, yet my masks are few and I expose my heart to people enough that eventually people open up.
The world may not be a mental hospital but it is full of people in need of healing. The healing they need is from fear/judgement/lack of love and it manifests in so many ways. Addiction, depression, self harming, narcissism, suicidal tendencies, personality disorders, extreme busyness, fear of rejection, shame, self rejection, you name it, 100% is suffering from something.

Even those whos' lives look like tv and movies underneath lurks a wound they let almost no one see.

We sit here also effected by many of those things but we know we came here to serve, so how do we serve.
We heal ourselves, we be unapologetically ourselves, we hold a space where people feel safe admitting their wounds and also being themselves. Even if they have that for 2-20 minutes it is a rest.

I had all this other stuff to say but the truth is we are wounded in ways that once healed will give us insight so we can offer more complete understanding/love and compassion to others. Even if that service is just holding the door for someone or allowing them to break down on your shoulder and never mentioning it again.