Bring4th

Full Version: A Watcher's Post
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone.

I would begin first by saying that I have been visiting these forums since early 2012.  Although I have never engaged in the discussions, I have read quite a bit over the years.  There are not a few here for whom I have deep admiration and respect.  Your words, although intended for another, have touched me many times and have given me valuable insights, shifted my perspective, and given me hope at times when I needed it. If only my gratitude were able to be properly expressed.  Thank you all so very much!  

Now please forgive me for the length of my post.

I was born in Kansas and have lived here my entire life.  My childhood was not what I would call happy.  If I had to underline themes of my life, it would be loneliness and confusion.  My parents both had their share of pains and insecurities that made it difficult for them to look beyond themselves as parents—although I know they did their best.  My father was a great and wonderful man when he was sober and downright terrifying when he was not, which was too often as an alcoholic.  My mother used substances and possessive men to escape herself.  Both loved me very much, but other things would distract them and damage our relationship deeply.  Much of my time was spent alone in my room playing on the computer or dawdling around outside when at my father’s.  My father’s explosive and unpredictable rages left me feeling constantly uncertain about how my actions would affect someone else.