Bring4th

Full Version: Looking for Editors!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Brittany

I was considering making a post like this for a while, and the psychic reading I got today (by a most talented Leigh Anne Loggins) jogged my memory to post it.

Most of you know I've been working on my book...my magnum opus for...oh, going on ten years now. I realize that I am a talented and capable writer, but I have motivation issues, and often my ideas become scattered and I end up just floating away from the plot line or getting distracted...hence me never making it past chapter 5 or so. 10 years and I'm still pretty much sitting at square one. I would REALLY like to finish this book before I step into the grave. Since I was a child it has been my dream to publish a book. You might say it is my "personal legend" Smile.

Ms. Loggins said that it would be good for me to find someone who could help me with editing and in holding me accountable for actually getting the writing done (instead of losing interest after five minutes or so and deciding to play video games). She suggested I try to enlist the help of some student editors from my local college, but I thought I would see if anyone was interested on here first.

To be specific, I'm totally fine with people reading my draft work for the sheer enjoyment of it and saying "I liked it," but what I'm looking for here is someone who has a pretty thorough understanding of what goes into the writing/publishing process who can offer in depth constructive criticism, and perhaps help me in organizing concepts and setting goals, etc.

I will also say that I do not write children's books. Writing is a form of therapy for me, among other things, so some of my topics can get pretty dark. I would give my writing an "R" rating if it were a movie...nothing too outlandishly offensive, but swearing, sexual content and "heavy" topics abound.