Bring4th

Full Version: College: Is it really necessary?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Throughout my life I've never really knew what I was going to do with my life and I started of college classes here and there. But everytime, I would succeed at subjects I felt of value to me, and the others... I tend to just drop out. I found them to be very closed minded institutions that have this 'one way' of correct thinking and anything other than that was not accepted. I felt like a quitter and society made me feel like I was lazy, when in reality if I don't believe in something, I won't do it-- simple.

Now I have found my passion in life, which is permaculture design and reforestation, and don't see a need for a college degree. I'm a great self teacher and am taking video classes and once I'm done with that, take a hands on design course. I feel some pressure from others saying it's a 'wise' decision to have a college degree, so I would like to hear others' advice and experiences in regards to the necessity of college.
A degree isn't for you. It helps others evaluate you more efficiently. If that is good depends on your individual distortions.
Its necessity is dependent on what one wishes to manifest through their life. Society, as it stands, highly values such credentials but of course there are an infinite number of pathes.
this is sort of tangential, but relevant, so I hope you can stay with me.

in Australia, students are both subsidized (the courses are charged for less than they cost to provide, the government picking up the difference), and the charges for courses are offered as student loans by default (so you can start studying straight away, without ever paying a dollar).

this 'easy access' to college/university education is both an opportunity and a bit of a life trap.