Bring4th

Full Version: Medication over Meditation (or both) for me
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been doing meditation for a few years now, and there's been some problems it's not been able to take care of. Like anxiety. I'd always feel it in my solar plexus.

But 20 minutes after taking a Prozac, I feel the anxiety lifting. There isn't an uncomfortable pressure any longer in my solar plexus. Perhaps now it will make my meditations more effective, since I won't be distracted by this irritation.

I'm also on Risperdal for my schizophrenia. No amount of meditation helped with that, and the meds are needed for me. Meditation seemed to make the symptoms worse, because then it was extra hard to ground. Now the meds keep me grounded.

I hope to return to normal, because work was causing some unnecessary anxiety too.
that's great news Gemini!

just a quick question though, if it's not too personal. I think you've alluded to the fact that these medications have some side-effects. How have you been dealing with those other consequences of taking the medication?
I am prescribed benztropine which counteracts the side-effects of the drugs.
With Prozac, now I have a certain stillness. Although there is still some pressure in other
parts of my body, energetically.
(06-04-2014, 08:29 PM)Gemini Wolf Wrote: [ -> ]I've been doing meditation for a few years now, and there's been some problems it's not been able to take care of. Like anxiety. I'd always feel it in my solar plexus.

But 20 minutes after taking a Prozac, I feel the anxiety lifting. There isn't an uncomfortable pressure any longer in my solar plexus. Perhaps now it will make my meditations more effective, since I won't be distracted by this irritation.