Bring4th

Full Version: Psychologists Find that Agreeable People Are More Likely to Hurt You
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
http://io9.com/psychologists-find-that-n...1597267257

Quote:People with more agreeable, conscientious personalities are more likely to make harmful choices. In these new obedience experiments, people with more social graces were the ones who complied with the experimenter's wishes and delivered electric shocks they believed could harm an innocent person. By contrast, people with more contrarian, less agreeable personalities were more likely to refuse to hurt other people when told to do so.
have you ever hurt anyone Adonai?
Psych research is always ultra contextual.
(06-28-2014, 05:03 PM)Bring4th_Plenum Wrote: [ -> ]have you ever hurt anyone Adonai?

As a young student, I received over 30 different referrals to the principal's office for violating school protocol and punished each and every time by either being forced to sit in silence for long periods of time or going to an after school bootcamp. I've been considered irresponsible, disrespectful. For what you may ask?

Not ever doing my homework and not following related procedures.

No, I haven't hurt a fly. I have always consistently neglected authority however. I will never follow protocol but I will never hurt a person. That's why I like this study.
I almost got paddled in school once. I don't remember what for. But I have never hurt anyone physically before. Emotionally I have though through disagreements. I've killed many flies before.
These are like the perfect research summaries you find floating on the internet to use for personal/political purposes to make some point lol. Reading the research and understanding how we can generalize the findings is probably wise bc the findings can be used in ways to merely confirm our biases. I agree research can be ultra-contextual.