Bring4th

Full Version: have you ever tried fasting? and what did you get out of it?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
some recent discussions regards veggie diet got me to thinking a bit. Just before I switched over to vege 18 months ago (not a totally conscious choice, just following intuition/promptings), I had undergone 2 separate fasts.

First one was for 5 days.

Second one for 3 days.

I quite enoyed them both, but haven't revisited it since then.

have you fasted much? and what did you get out of it?
I tried fasting once for a day, but ended up drinking a Slim Fast. It was hard.

Edit: Once I did a Master Cleanse for a few days. You have to drink only lemonade sweetened with Maple Syrup, and salt water. Sometimes cayenne pepper is used in the lemonade to speed up metabolism. It's supposed to cleanse you out. I only lasted a few days on that. Like 2 or 3. Needless to say I didn't complete the cleanse. If I recall it's supposed to be 7 or 13 days.
I love water fasting. The light, clear feeling is great, especially after the habitual hunger wears off after the 3rd day of fasting (real hunger will reappear if your fat reserves are critically low).

I probably started experimenting with water fasting when I was 25. As a rough estimate, Over the past years I've done:
2 Five Day Water Fasts
2 Four Day Water Fasts
3 Three Day Waters Fasts
2 Two Day Water Fasts

By far, the Two and Three Day fasts are the hardest because most bodies are stubborn about switching over to full ketosis (you basically have a full days worth of energy stored in your liver). But once your body switches to burning your fat, it feels great.

However, you do get detox effects depending on how you've been eating and how many other times you've detoxed. I remember the first few times mind fogginess on the fourth day, metallic taste in my mouth, non-sick sore throat, mucus, etc.