Bring4th
Do artists serve themselves? Or others? - Printable Version

+- Bring4th (https://www.bring4th.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Bring4th Studies (https://www.bring4th.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Strictly Law of One Material (https://www.bring4th.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Do artists serve themselves? Or others? (/showthread.php?tid=17932)

Do artists serve themselves? Or others? - sillypumpkins - 01-28-2020

Hi all,

I read Book 1 about a year ago and am in the middle of Book 2. The past couple days I've been pondering my own polarity. I do very much feel neutral a lot of the time and I feel this gives way to some undesirable behavior. I want to serve others, but I also want to serve myself. I know it's harvest time, and it's time to make a choice (is that right?), so I'm trying to get all this sorted.

Anyways, I'm an artist. I really like making stuff, especially music. I've been thinking about whether the artist serves him/herself, or others. I suppose it depends on the artist? I'm really not sure. I've always struggled a little bit with sitting down and making stuff in a disciplined way. I usually have flurries of activity and then it dies down for a while and I get sedentary.

Anyways, I'd like to hear other's thoughts on this. I do feel more of an inclination towards service to others. It does feel like the path I'm walking on. I just..... want to be able to make my art too yknow.... it makes me happy...

This might seem like a silly question to some.... but I'm asking it anyway....

Thanks all Smile
Heart

RE: Do artists serve themselves? Or others? - AnthroHeart - 01-28-2020

I believe there was one book that Stephen King wrote that he did it for the money and people could tell and it didn't do well.

I think if you're doing it for the love of the art, that is good enough. People can tell.

RE: Do artists serve themselves? Or others? - Ray711 - 01-29-2020