Bring4th
new here. sharing a life situation - Printable Version

+- Bring4th (https://www.bring4th.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Bring4th Community (https://www.bring4th.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+--- Forum: Olio (https://www.bring4th.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: new here. sharing a life situation (/showthread.php?tid=17804)

new here. sharing a life situation - 11celia11 - 12-08-2019

Hi All. I've been a longtime lurker here and a loyal listener to "In the Now." My friend Eric introduced me to the Law of One material after he and I bonded over spirituality-related interests while living in a co-op. I started meditating every day in 2016.
I'm a musician by choice and by training.
Several patterns in my 21 years of life began to come to the fore after I started smoking cannabis every day (fall 2017).
Before that I was a social smoker. Every weekend I would light up with friends.
(I was always looking to "level up" socially from the time I was around 9 years old and felt alienated by my peers)
Following some times I turned to the plant (see above) after dysfunctional sexual situations, it became an easy outlet for my anxiety and confusion.
The numbness allowed me to overwork myself at school and gain false fulfillment from seeking perfection and always able to do whatever anyone asks, foremost the academic system. (My shadow side is competitive.)
Meanwhile I still thought I was rebellious for smoking every day.

I realize I'm scared of pursuing something because I'm afraid to take ownership. In my head my life will be great if I can do everything people tell me to do to be smart, be a good musician by outside standards, etc.
Now I'm scared of doing anything toward my studies out of fear that it is not the right choice for me, that I will get sucked into overworking again.